Thirteenth Fantasy

I’m not usually one for video game reviews and there are a number of reasons for that.  One is that by the time I finish a game, I’m already up for the next game I’ll be playing and really lose any interest I had in doing a write up.  Another is that it’s so, so, so much easier to make a point in a single post to my Twitter rather than a long rambling post on one of my blogs.  And for Final Fantasy, well, I’m not going to make an exception.  I’m not far enough into the game really to say anything more than “So far, the narrative is  engaging and, despite monotony, the battle system is intuitive and enjoyable.”

That’s really all there is to say and it’s practically a tweet.  Saying that it’s pretty is a point made to the point of redundancy.  Everyone knows its pretty.  I don’t need to tell you that.  But what I do need to tell you is that it’s only pretty in HD.

This is a cutscene from my experience using Standard Definition Cables into a Standard Definition Screen.  I don’t know if it’s a fault of the game not being built properly to work with standard hardware (knowing full well that STANDARD DEFINITION CABLES are packed with every Ps3 as STANDARD) or if it’s a fault of PAL Conversion but, well, either way the game is almost unplayable in standard definition.  I know the problem exists for other gamers, though I’m not aware of how their set up works in comparison to mine.  I only know that no one using HDMI cables has complained about Screen Tearing.

So I’m-a write it off as a failure on behalf of Square Enix.

3 Responses to Thirteenth Fantasy

  1. Safeer says:

    Don’t those points apply to books and film/TV as well, though? And you’re fine with writing up those. I guess you’re just less interested in writing about games. /shrug

  2. Adam says:

    I don’t write about books or movies or TV, though, unless its something that really struck me – like Avatar (Aang, not the smuuurfs) or The Time Traveler’s Wife (novel).

    It’s comics that I pretty much write up everything I read though.

  3. Safeer says:

    Yeah, and I understand why – it doesn’t take very long to read one, so you sustain interest long enough to write about them.

Leave a Reply

