Oscars Shmoscars

I have actually seen very little of the movies brought up in the Oscars. Well! I do plan to see some of them, so at least it was useful in pointing a few out. All I really have to say is that I guess I’m in the “hooray, Avatar didn’t win Best Picture” crowd. Anyone else wanna throw in their 2 cents?

In case you didn’t bother to watch it (I didn’t! I got most of the news from Twitter, tee hee), check out Roger Ebert’s rundown via the link.

I was a little bit disappointed by Avatar’s showing.  It got the best visual effects award and, sure, we all knew that it would, but I felt like it stole Star Trek’s thunder and I honestly feel that Star Trek deserved it.  Inglorious Basterds and Up were both nominated for best picture, so that was pretty cool and Up won it for Best Musical Score or however it went.

And I learned that there’s a movie with Sally Sparrows in it.  So I basically need this movie.

Oh, and I forgot to mention that Up won best animated film, which it deserved, even among what seems like a really good year for animated films.

Source: http://rogerebert.suntimes.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20100307/OSCARS/100309965

About Safeer
What is Safeer? A miserable little pile of secrets. But enough talk, have at you!

Leave a Reply

