This week in STUFF: The Fall of Forte Dante.

So Safeer broke his computer. That smarmy rat bastard. Thinks he’s so smart. Oh, I’ll just break my laptop so that Adam has to do all of the work. There’s a new Speakable Evil – a LOST Special – that I recorded today and now I’m doing Safeer’s job.
You know what I think? I think we should find him and stab him. MY LOYAL FANGIRLS, UNTO ME AND FORWARD WE MARCH FORWARD YON WESTERN SUBURBS, BLADES IN ARMS AND RAGE IN OUR HEARTS WITH SAFEER’S BLOOD READY TO BECOME DRIED UPON OUR VERY SOULS.

Great:
POWER RANGERS. Basically, Disney has started to air a remastered version of the very first season of the 1993 Mighty Morphin’ Power Rangers. While this reminds me that Power Rangers was on the TV before my sister was born, and that this makes me feel prematurely old even though I’m only nineteen, I’m still pretty excited. Unfortunately, if this video is anything to go by then the reboot is pretty retarded. And by that I of course means that everything that should be remastered is left the same and everything that is remastered is superfluous and unnecessary. But, well, it’s still Power Rangers from when the show was at least trying to produce a coherent narrative so that’s pretty fantastic in my mind. There’s also a fantastic new toyline.

Good:
Disney’s The Princess and the Frog didn’t get released here in Australia until the 1st of January, which was technically last week but shut up man. While I think it’s probably a little better than this category, though not quite worthy of ‘Great’, I’ll put it here. We’ll have more of our thoughts on this film in Episode 6 of Speakable Evil.

I don’t know yet because I haven’t read it yet:
I found Audrey Niffenegger’s second novel Her Fearful Symmetry and then I bought it but I didn’t read it. This is the author person responsible for The Time Traveler’s Wife, so I have high hopes. The novel appears to be about two pretty blonde identical twins. Interesting premise, to say the least. (it also sounds as if it flows logically, because it would be pretty silly if the story had like three identical twins. Sorry Adam, couldn’t help myself :D)

Meh:
Marvel started it’s new Siege crossover. Oh, yay. The tagline is all about this event being seven years in the making. Honestly, I don’t see it. I know that House of M lead into Civil War lead into The Initiative lead into the Secret Invasion lead into Dark Reign and lead into, now, Siege. I know that that, technically, makes the tagline accurate BUT. But I don’t believe for a single minute that anyone at Marvel, during House of M/Civil War went:
“In Seven Years, we’re going to have Loki manipulate Volstagg into blowing up a full sports stadium so that Osborn, who is like more powerful than the President and Nick Fury put together, can declare War on Asgard. Also, even though we haven’t had this idea yet, Asgard is floating somewhere in California.”
I just don’t believe it. I haven’t read it yet, but it started this week with THREE DIFFERENT #1’s. That’s Siege #1, Siege: The Cabal #1 and Siege: Embedded #1. Each, I daresay, asking for $3.99 cover price. That’s practically eight of Australia’s dollars per comic. No thank-you.
The event itself should be pretty fun on some level. I’m hoping that the Sentry will job to Thor (and not the other way around /groan) and I’m hoping that Peter Parker will finally beat the pulp through Norman Osborn.

Crap:
Avatar is the second highest grossing movie ever or something. That means it made more money than Return of the King. Basically, the entire Western World (of cinema) should be ashamed of itself.
Channel 10 is where us Australians who only have commercial television can find Supernatural and Stargate:Universe, except this week 10 decided not to have them on for some reason. Stupid Channel 10, spoiling my Monday of TV. They’re crap.
3 Responses to This week in STUFF: The Fall of Forte Dante.

  1. Resulka says:

    <.< >.> Fangirl warriors, eh? How's that working out for you?

  2. Matt says:

    I wanted to avoid avatar like the plague, but saw it as a favor to a very enthusiastic friend and soon to be relative. It wasn't bad.That surprised me. It's a green fable, but the narrative does a good job of smoothing over that and pulling you in enough that it's not such a slap in the face.The tvtropes page is a bit over enthusiastic with its bitterness. Wait till it comes out on dvd or something and watch it. It's pretty, very pretty, and it's a decent story.But then again, I like the color blue, and I like love stories.It's not a super fantastic movie, but it's far from shit. And that surprised me.~Matt Booker

  3. Esoteric says:

    I hear that it's not bad. But I also hear that it's not especially good. I'm generally the one who reads Twilight to form a proper basis for opinion (and slander), but I can't bring myself to even want to sit through Avatar. I'm not entirely sure exactly why object against it so much, but it's definitely a movie that I am going out of my way to never see.

Leave a Reply

