If anyone does not believe in Venus they should gaze at my girlfriend.elb

The Melbourne Museum has this fantastic exhibit on at the moment, that I encourage you all to go look at, on Pompeii. I understand that the majority of people on the planet don’t have access to this exhibit, because they don’t live in Melbourne, so I thought I take some photos (that could very well be illegal) and put them up.

There were lots of pots and things, and Gladiator clothes, at the exhibit and these are the things that I did not take photos of. I find that the exhibit struggled to make the interesting bits interesting, so the uninteresting bits were completely lost to the Roman Gods of Boredom.

(The Melbourne Museum just, fails at making things interesting. They have the most boring Ames Room that I have ever come across and very little in terms of interactive material. I’ll give credit to the dinosaur room – it’s impossible to make giant Sauropods boring. I also give credit to the Scienceworks museum for being interactively interesting – I need to view the Star Wars exhibit).

So I’ve taken some photos of what I found interesting (mostly from the post-Vesuvius-eruption bit) but I maintain that these photos were taken on an iPhone so they’re not of especially fantastic quality. Which is fantastic, because that way you still have a reason to go (if you can) even after seeing the good bits! Aren’t I just the greatest blogger? I *care* about my no-audience.

IMG_0020 IMG_0021 IMG_0022

I took these photos because they’re Ancient Roman Action Figures of the Ancient Roman (Greek) Gods. I thought that was pretty cool. There were some Ancient Roman Dice (gambling was only legal on Saturday) too. Photos of two dice would have been less than exciting, though.

IMG_0023 This is a statue of Muse, which is, uh, the Greek or Roman God of Creativity or something like that. You know, like a Muse. Below are some plaques, for want of a better (the proper) word, of Minerva (Athena) and Mercury (Hermes). There was a broken Vulcan (Hephaestus) next to Mercury.

IMG_0026

IMG_0025

This thing just creeped me out. It was the head in the middle, just handing there all disembodied-like, that did it. I wasn’t able to figure out whether it was an original (I have no idea how it could be) or a duplicate (I have no idea how it could be), but I found it interesting anyway. The random tears and rips; and that it could potentially be thousands of years old.

And now: the feature! The dead people! I feel obligated to warn you, just like they did, that these aren’t the originals – that they are duplicates – but that they still may be distressing. Though, I am sure that you’ve seen pictures in text books at school anyway.

IMG_0030 IMG_0031 IMG_0032 IMG_0033 IMG_0034 IMG_0035 IMG_0027 IMG_0028 IMG_0029

Be sure to click for bigger pictures. ^>^

(The post title, you see, was me being clever. The walls of the exhibit were covered in graffiti translated from the Roman graffiti that covered the walls of Pompeii. This was the main one that caught my eye.)

Leave a Reply

